I know the power of God to transform. This week is especially reminiscent. It will be one week today that 2 years ago, I thought my marriage (and my life!) might be over.

Abuse is nothing to gloss over or trivialize. My husband was an abusive man. Note I say “was”. This is the power of God, because this is not the norm. The social workers and counsellors will tell you there is no hope for an abusive man to change. But I will tell you that 8 months into a full reconciliation, there is hope!

2 years ago, I walked on eggshells. I dared not voice my opinion, and I felt horrible about myself. If I was only prettier, a better parent, a better housekeeper, a better wife..a better person… The lies kept coming. When the explosion finally did happen, it was relieving and scary at the same time. What it meant was something had and would change.

Change it did. Following those days of fear and worry, of uncertainty and longing.. A cross-province move and the conflicting advice of many..I learned a lot about the faithfulness of God.

He upheld me in the challenges of single parenting, of sleepless nights and chaotic days, of walking the path between guilt and bitterness. I learned about responsibility and forgiveness, and about when to let go and let God.

Prayer became even more the constant companion! It was my lifeline, and my sanity saver. It seemed as though God was the only one who understood my unwavering belief that change was possible, even as I prepared to end my marriage.

And I got my miracle. Slowly, as the darkness seemed to grow, the light of hope grew stronger too. On Christmas morning I saw the dawn of the changes I had hoped for, prayed for.

And two weeks later it was confirmed to me, that my hope-against-fear prayer was answered.

It is reflected in my newborn daughter’s chosen name: Verity-Jane Hope. Truth is the gift of God and brings hope!

I celebrate God’s goodness to me. He has restored my family, and enlarged it. He has brought us to a community of faith and a greater understanding of love and truth. I am truly blessed!

I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make her boast in the LORD: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together. I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. (Ps 34:1-4)

