So, unexpectedly, we find ourselves homeowners, somehow. I’m not quite sure of the details, except that a house has been bought, and we are to move into it, June 1. I’m excited (it’s a nice place, and more room) and nervous (can we afford to do this??) and slightly saddened (our daughter was born in this house, our first real home together..). But overall, I think this will be good for us. At least, I hope so!

We are finishing up spring break, and back to school next week. My oldest is doing very well with her work, and we just need to work on her (and my!) time management skills. I think I need to spend more one-on-one time with her, and I’m trying to figure out how that will happen. I’ve also got some stuff prepared for my 2nd, and I hope to be able to give her some more things to do during school for the next 6 weeks or so.

We finally have the approval for some financial aid from the government for my 2nd’s challenges. And I got some good news – the referral went through for the ASD screening clinic, and now we just wait for the appointment. This clinic is really important, because it will tell us ‘yes, she’s autistic’ or ‘no, she’s not’. I’m not sure which to hope for, really. A ‘yes’ answer gives us finality, and we can move on to treatment and developing a plan to work with her. A ‘no’ answer gives hope that there is a “fix” for all these challenges, and eventually perhaps she wouldn’t have them anymore.

We got my dh’s tax return finally, and were able to get some *needed* things – like my glasses! Yay! Now I’ll be able to get my license, and no longer be dependant on my dh for appointment transportation. And the kids will be able to do more things, and maybe meet more people. We so needed this!

I am astonished at the changes and exciting things happening in our life. At the beginning of March, both my dh and I were discouraged and frustrated. Now we feel as though spring has come, and not just in the seasons of the year, but the seasons of our life. It’s hesitant, and so new, but hope is there.

We’re still getting started!